American’s Should Stop Complaining

Filling Up with Cheap Gas 

Well, I’m finally back after a relaxing 2 week holiday some of which was spent driving around the United States of Uh-merica. We put about 2000 km (or 1,244 Miles) on the odometer of the family van. In the process I got to fill up several times on really cheap gas. Honestly, I think it’s time our friends South of the border stopped complaining about the price of gas…they’ve got it really good!

The cheapest gas I saw was in New Jersey at $2.87 US for a gallon…the most expensive I saw was in New York City (yes, there are gas stations in “the worlds city”) at $3.32 for a gallon. On average I’d say I paid about $3.00 US for a gallon of gas.

As you probably know already my math has never been good, but follow me on this calculation:

A liquid gallon is equal to 3.785411784 litres, right? (yeah, I looked it up) Or a Litre is equal to 0.2641720523 Gallons. So for an average $3 of gas that comes out to about 0.79252 cents per litre. Meanwhile we here in Montreal are paying $1.o3 per litre. But wait David you’re yelling the exchange rate! What about the exchange rate! You’re right so 0.79252 cents traded at the current rate (1.05) would make it 0.83 per litre! Wow, I’d love to be paying only $.83/litre…except even when it was at 83 cents a litre I was smart enough to sell my SUV. :0/

In the end we all know that the war in Iraq was to drive the cost of gas up so George Bush’s fossil fuel pushing friends could get even richer…oh, was that out loud, oops, sorry…I guess the black helicopters will be visiting me tonight.

3 Responses to American’s Should Stop Complaining

  1. aeuge says:

    The black helicopters will be visiting you, and stay off the phone because he’ll be listening in on all your conversations.

  2. David Tyler says:

    LOL! Thanks for the warning aeuge! :0)

  3. […] American’s Should Stop ComplainingMeanwhile we here in Montreal are paying $1.o3 per litre. But wait David you’re yelling the exchange rate! What about the exchange rate! You’re right so 0.79252 cents traded at the current rate (1.06) would make it 0.84 per litre! … […]

Leave a Reply

