Question: What’s Most Important; Money, Respect or Power?

Men's Health Magazine

Men’s Health Magazine asked a very interesting question and got what I think was a very interesting answer. They asked “Which is most important to you at work; respect, money, or power?”

  • 82% said respect
  • 15% said power
  • 3% said money

My question of the week for you is how would YOU have answered that question? I thought at least money would have been more important than power.

Tell me what you think in the comments field below.

8 Responses to Question: What’s Most Important; Money, Respect or Power?

  1. Deborah says:

    I would have answered Respect.

  2. pamela says:

    R E S P E C T. No amount of money is worth it,if your boss is an ass. We spend more time with the people we work with than our family. To be treated like crap for your hard work ….give me a great boss like I have now and lower pay. Make me much happier. My last boss was a Bit….from 8-5 five days a week. Give me kindness any day….

    Great show listen to you on line from my desk and I love it. Keep up the good work.

    Cheers

    Pamela

  3. Luke says:

    I would say respect. If I have a lot of money and power but everyone hates me, what good is that? I’ll either get fired or quit. And if that doesn’t happen, then I’ll be slogging away at a job I hate, with people I hate, doing things I hate. After I retire, assuming that I don’t die of a heart attack first, I’ll be so full of hate that I’ll become mean and vindictive. I’ll have pushed away my friends and family, been mean to my cat, and been a jerk all of my life. Is that worth it for a job that I hate and maybe for a little extra money? As for power, once you retire the power is gone and then you start to search for someone, or something, else to dominate. That is why I choose respect. The money and power is not what is important.

    Have a nice day.

  4. Emy says:

    I think Respect is the most important aspect in the work environment.
    If your boss & co-workers respect you in your day to day activities at work, then power & money will follow in due course.

    I listen to Q92 from 7:30 am… a barrel of laughs with the morning gang..
    and I enjoy the oldies you play..

    Ciao,
    Emy

  5. Cinsie says:

    IMO, respect would come first. It makes the workplace alot easier on everyone and doesn’t leave a heavy stressful feeling.

    You could always look at it this way, once you earn respect from your boss and co-workers, I’m sure your boss will notice how respected you are by your peers. So in turn he may give you a promotion (power) and with a promotion there’s a good chance you’ll get a raise (money).

    That’s my 2 cents!

    Cinsie

  6. David Tyler says:

    Well, so far it looks like we all want respect in the workplace!

    I agree with you Cinsie and Emy, get respect, enjoy what you do and money and power will follow.

    But an additional question how important is power to you guys??

  7. Cinsie says:

    Power isn’t important to me. As long as I enjoy what I’m doing, whether it be in a powerful position or not, all I ask is respect (leading back to your original question). I treat others as I want to be treated.

    It’s sad some people let too much power go to their head, their personality changes, their whole outlook changes, and so on.

    Cinsie

  8. the invisible says:

    i agree about the hole respect thing because in order to get power and respect u have to first respect yourself than respect others and allot of people will come to you like yeah i can go to her or him knowing that she or he wont just blow me off and laugh at me but listen to me you know and i can trust her or him with anything because she or he wouldnt be rude to do that and this and ect. Money will be there one day and the next day either you or the money could be gone and all that hard work for nothig!Power in the other hand can really go to your head because that makes you think you have all this power and it does go to your head and you could loose all the closest friends you had over money and power…. no thank you i think that respect is the most important!!!

Leave a Reply

