Lovesick

Lovesick - Broken Hearted 

I see, I see lovers in the meadow
I see, I see silhouettes in the window
I watch them ’til they’re gone and they leave me hanging on To a shadow
I’m sick of love; I hear the clock tick
This kind of love; I’m love sick
Sometimes the silence can be like the thunder
Sometimes I wanna take to the road and plunder
Could you ever be true? I think of youAnd I wonder
I’m sick of love; I wish I’d never met you
I’m sick of love; I’m trying to forget you
Just don’t know what to do
I’d give anything to Be with you
          

  -Bob Dylan, Lovesick

We’ve all taken sick days at work, but how about a lovesick day? A Japanese marketing company is letting employees take time off if they get dumped by a significant other.

The six woman staff of Tokyo’s Hime & Company are allowed a number of lovesick days per year depending on their age. Women under 24-years-old can take one day off per year, while those between 25 and 29 can take two days off and the 30 and older crowd can take three days off. The company CEO says that’s because women in their 20’s can find their next love quickly, but it’s tougher for women in their 30’s, and their break-ups tend to be more serious.

So what do you think? Good idea…or have they gone too far? Is lovesickness a legitimate reason to need time off??

Incidently, the company also gives the ladies two mornings off twice a year for sales shopping leave, so they can race to stores to hunt for bargains.

6 Responses to Lovesick

  1. Sharon says:

    Wonder if they give any to men??? Not saying much if men aren’t affected at all by a breakup of any sort (significant other, marriage, etc)….
    Not sure about calling them lovesick days….but it is traumatic going thru a separation and divorce and some time off if required might just be what the doctor ordered!!!
    Think I take offense to the number of days escalating depending on age…lol
    As to the two mornings off twice a year for shopping….works for me!!!

  2. Darlene says:

    I have a hard time getting regular sick days much less love sick days ha! Ive been to work with a broken heart….sniffff sniffff…..honestly kind of pointless, because all you do is cry. Not very productive, So might as well stay home….Stay home and get payed?? Right on!!!! Im all for it. Is that company taking applications??? lol…

    Hope your day is a good one

  3. Personally, I think this is both highly sexist and incredibly insulting, implying as it does that women are too fragile to function under emotional stress.

    Feminism is going backward, not forward.

  4. Mike says:

    Love sick, days off?? Yes anyone that has ever loved and had a broken heart will agree that a couple of days can help, it’s unfortunate, it could be called a moment of depression, and a lot of time it hurts to the point that you want to die. But remember it should not be just for women, it can hit us guys just as as much.

  5. tessa says:

    hope it doesn’t spoil people

  6. Bunny says:

    You think instead of having a “lovesick” day off, we can have a “stress-sick” day?
    No one can work while stressed out from their personal life….. they’re too busy thinking about what’s stressing them…

Leave a Reply

