Momnesia

Mother and Child

It turns out that Alzheimer’s may be hereditary – you may be inheriting it from your kids!

A number of new mothers have reported experiencing forgetfulness after giving birth and now it has a name – ‘momnesia.’   Researchers say that part of it is due to the lack of sleep that’s inevitable when the baby comes home.  Another possible factor is all the things a mom has to learn about taking care of the new arrival.  With all the new things occupying a mother’s mind, other information takes a lower priority.

On the upside, they say that once the initial period of readjustment ends, after awhile the mommy brain gets more efficient, and the mother become smarter and learns things faster.

Unfortunately there is still no explanation or cure for Dad-nesia. 

5 Responses to Momnesia

  1. Cookiemama says:

    Being a new mother (son is now 8 months old), I completely agree with “momnesia”. I would add that part of momnesia includes forgetting to take care of myself. I can’t tell you how many times I have left the house with a car trunk full of items for my son, but left my hat/gloves/lunch/etc. at home. I have even forgotten my glasses at home. Exactly when will my brain get “more efficient, and … become smarter and learn things faster”? I wonder if momnesia gets better with the more children I have.

  2. Connie Feeley says:

    I do recall having Momnesia when the kids were small, and now as they are older, you kinda wish you still had it. Teenagers make you want to wish you had memory loss! As far as Dad-nesia, my husband has had it since the day the kids were born…thats a 20 year span. I wonder if he will ever get over it.

  3. Waka says:

    My daughter is 22 months old and I am thoroughly suffering from momnesia. I can see in some ways how my mind is more efficient and sharp when it comes to her, yet I hate walking into a room to get something and not knowing what I just went to get. Or when I go to write something down so that I don’t forget and by the time I get the paper to write it down, bang! the thought is gone. My husband gets annoyed when I say or do something and forget what I said or did and then argue that I didn’t say or do it. It drives him nuts!

  4. Susan says:

    Nursing moms call it “mammary loss.”

  5. Frieda says:

    I had my first child in 1989, and my youngest is now 12.

    I still have it. H-E-L-P-~!!!

    Srsly. I used to be a great multitasker with a great attitude, and now I’m on thyroid, 2 bp meds, and docs (several) that say I need them. I can’t lose the weight, and I’m still an active person but have to fight sleepiness and memory fog every stinkin’ day.

    As for all you other moms, it’s my wish that mine is only the worst case scenario, and of course, it seems that momnesia is only one of my problems…

Leave a Reply

