Miley Cyrus Vanity Fair Photo

Muley Cyrus in Vanity Fair

OK, so there it is. The picture of Miley Cyrus in Vanity Fair magazine that she’s apologizing for. I don’t see it….what’s the big “issue”? Sure, she’s 15 years old and a ‘role model’ to girls younger than that. If you read the whole story you’ll discover that her family was there during the shoot and gave the OK on everything. The photographer was none other than Annie Lebovitz who has devoted some time defending the photograph.

Now, if I had daughters I think I would still be OK if they wanted to watch her TV show and buy her CD’s…this photograph would do nothing to change that. Though the impression that I’m getting is that there are some parents who, based on this photo, have forbade their daughters from having anything to do with the young multimillionaire.

If I remember correctly didn’t Brooke Shields go topless for most of Blue Lagoon when she was 14? And how about the nude scenes she did in Pretty Baby when she was 12?? And speaking of age appropriate…how old was Jodie Foster when she played a prostitute in Taxi Driver

What do you think? Is this picture worth all of the hullabaloo?? Or is it just a publicity stunt…?

Here are some of the behind the scenes photographs to show you what an innocuous situation it actually was.

Vanity Fair Cover

16 Responses to Miley Cyrus Vanity Fair Photo

  1. Aileen says:

    The Miley Cyrus photo is tasteful, but because I am aware of her age, I consider it borderline race-y. But I’ve seen other tweens walking around the street that wear the lowest waistlines with their thongs sticking out and their ‘barely there’ tops. Do I think Miss Cyrus should be chastized for her photo shoot? Absolutely not. If anything, this should be a lesson learned. Trust your instincts: if what you’re doing doesn’t feel right, just don’t do it at all. Otherwise, be prepared to face the consequences.

  2. Laurel Leduc says:

    I’m seen young people in a lesser state of dress walking the streets. The photo was done with her father, Billy Ray, in tow and he was fine with the shot. The shot is art, as is most of the work that Annie does. Miley started the hoola herself by bringing it to forefront. Is it a publicity stunt or what???

  3. Doris Frechette says:

    I have a daughter and find that at the age of 15 it is irresponsible for a parent to allow an under age child be photographed in such an undressed way, it is not tastefull to say the least. As to the photographer, she had a lapse in judgement. When do we as adults take responsablity for our actions??

  4. Michelle Duckworth says:

    I agree the photo is tasteful, but it’s borderline racey. I have a ten year old girl and she just loves Miley Ray Cyrus and watches Hanna Montana every day, I would not tell her to stop watching just because of the photos. As David says in his blog look at Brook Shields & Drew Barrymore they did worse & they are two actresses that people respect today. So Miley I wouldn’t worry about it, with everything else going on in this world I think people should be more concerned about the WAR & FOOD SHORTAGE.

  5. Deb says:

    I think the photo is tastefully done but somewhat age inappropriate. Annie Leibovitz is a terrific photographer and does like to push the button, but isn’t that what separates the great from the just good?? I feel it was more the responsibility of her parents who were present during the shoot to say NO to this photo… Hey Billy Ray, Miley is your meal ticket don’t mess up….lol.

  6. sassychic1 says:

    I find that this picture makes her look loose and easy she loses the innocense that should still be there. Yes there are kids out there dressing worse on the street, but I don’t want them to be a role model for my daughters either. This picture sends a message that modesty dosn’t matter, and that she is ready and willing to jump into bed with some guy now. The issue here is that her morality has now been called into question. Her parents have shown a lack of descretion in allowing this photo to be shot. As has the photographer, no matter how wonderful she is. I won’t forbid my daughters to watch her program but I will definately discourage them from seeing her as a role model.

  7. wellwell says:

    I think that it’s a beautiful photo (except for the fact that she looks a bit sickly)! Seriously, that sheet wrapped around her looks like a strapless top with a low cut back. Kids younger than her walk around wearing less than that. Maybe it’s because I’m just 18 and don’t have kids to worry about, but really, I find nothing wrong with this. I don’t walk around in barely-there clothes; I don’t know. I think what parents should worry about more are the photos of her with some guy, when she’s practically ripping her shirt off for him. I saw them in some tabloid somewhere. There’s nothing wrong with getting intimate, but if you are fifteen and in the public eye as a role model to younger girls, then you need to be careful.

  8. This photo is just more proof that america loves its jailbait icons, then affects public moral outrage to distract from the fact that it is clicking on the links again.

  9. Never posts on a blog says:

    No way does the sheet look like a “strapless dress with a low-cut back”! Puhleez! It looks like she just lost her innocence. Well, that’s what being “hot” can do. Her parents have no sense evidently. Money, money, money!!

  10. Sasha Welling says:

    The photoshoot was tastefully done but still inappropriate considering her primary fan base. It is irresponsible for her to have an image like this.

  11. Maria says:

    I don’t understand what all the hoopla is about. This from a generation that grew up with Madonna.

  12. R Burkart says:

    Give me a break,this is just a publicity stunt,Miley Cyrus pretending to suddenly care about her unwanted pics,and really what is there to see? I just can’t believe the public is so enthralled with this trash! Lets worry more about the real issues in this world!

  13. K Krueger says:

    I don’t see the issue with the picture of Myley . I think it is tastefully done, and I have a young daughter who simply adores her.
    I would not stop my daughter from buying her stuff etc… we have more important issues in the world than to worry what the young stars of today are doing with or without clothes…

  14. Analisa says:

    If you are mad at Miley. Don’t be she is just doing her job. I guess her stupid contractor (no offence) signed a contract. And now I think she is trying to ruin Miley’s career. So don’t be mad at her. Be mad at her contracter. And I think that her parents and her did not know that they could say something. But they just felt that they could not say anything because it was already happening. So please … back off her, cause if you look into it it was not her. And the bra pics was just her being a teen. And the so called lez pics are just her having fun with her friend so back off. Please I am on her side so just please back off.

  15. Brandy says:

    Welcome to America! Lets continue to exploit sex and then question why are kids have babies so young…and those “more important issues in the world” is whats the sad part, there isnt many more important things in the world than our children, and the future generations. Your training your kids.

  16. Rawley says:

    Miley is an amazing performer !! “And when you act like them, just know it hurts”

Leave a Reply

