David Tyler Leaves Q92

I have always been a performer.

As a teenager I loved setting up my drums and performing with my band at local parks around Nuns’ Island (where I spent my first few years in Montréal), before that I would get a kick out of performing magic shows for my family Sunday after church and even as a baby I would sit in my stroller energized by the attention I was getting for making funny faces and sounds.

The History
So when I discovered radio in the late 70’s, CKGM with Marc “Mais Oui” Denis (whom I’m proud to call my friend today) I thought “hey this is for me”! A way for me to perform for an even bigger audience involving all the things I love, writing, reading and music! By 1984 I was cutting my teeth at John Abbott College radio (QSKY) then at Concordia (CIRL)…then keeping you up all night where we “threw the rule-book out the window” (FM96-CJFM), through the 90’s I was working along side you at the office, helping to launch MIX 96 and finally the new millennium brought me to Q92.

It’s hard to believe but I’ve been on the air continuously in Montréal for over 21 years, making me almost as much a part of the Montréal soundscape as that 3 note thing when the Metro heads out of the station down the track…well, ok, a-l-m-o-s-t, but at least I don’t leave a trail of rotten eggs smell as I move along…most days. I’m having a hard time grasping the idea that tomorrow I won’t be pushing open the studio door, sitting down and doing a show anymore and I’m going to miss our time together dearly. I feel our relationship was ended before it’s time.

The Future
That being said however, during my 3 month contractual quarantine from radio I will be working on building up my voice and production company, expanding my radio consulting business and finally launching my small business marketing company called B!G Shots: Big Ideas for Small Businesses (come read the blog here). *BLATANT PLUG*: If you own or know somebody who owns a small business have them contact me for marketing help (http://bigshots.wordpress.com/contact/) *END BLATANT PLUG*

Indeed, I am excited at the prospect of finally getting to stretch my legs and start using the university degree that I worked so hard for…however, to simply say that I will miss our relationship through the “magic of radio” would be an absolute understatement.

I will continue to blog here and I will stay up to date with all of my Facebook friends (click the link to the right to join my list) so I won’t be far.

Montréal is My Town
I love this city and I have no plans of ever leaving so you may still bump into me at a concert, browsing for books at Chapters or in line at the movies. Also, don’t be surprised if one day you hear my voice pop up again on the radio…when you do hear me be sure to call and say ‘hi’.

By the way if you liked my Behind the Scenes of Radio video get ready for The Anatomy of a TV Commercial, coming soon!

If you have any comments to make about the changes at Q92 send a note to Chris Kennedy and Mark Dickie through the Q92 website and/or add your comment below.

The Goodbye…for Now
I may have left Q92…but I will never leave YOU …and you know I know, that you know, I wouldn’t have nothin’ if I didn’t have you. (cue Randy Newman)

David Tyler

14 Responses to David Tyler Leaves Q92

  1. […] show on Q92 direct from Calgary today, the man he replaced, still-in-Montreal David Tyler, is philosophical on his blog about his departure from the station and what he plans to do […]

  2. Jacynthe L. Fetzer says:

    I am so sorry about your departure. I am really not happy about that kind of talk show during lunch time. It seems to be difficult to keep people from Montreal doing the job in Montreal. Please let us know if ever you have a contract from another station – really I am at the point to choose a new favorite station. I am not able to get 940 where Marc Denis is.

    Please give us news
    I will miss you.

  3. Tom Jonas says:

    Q-92 has lost a great voice and one of the few personalities who has never sold out!.. played the “Clic” game nor compromised his integrity. His main focus was to entertain Montrealers with his dry wit and his true passion!!. Q-92 can now officially be called the “sell-out” Pan-Canadian station and not a Montreal station! (DiMonte-Calgary) and (Maureen-Toronto. ) And who knows what’s next. The stale repetitive music, the boring talk and the fake laughs ( ie: afternoon drive UUUGGGGG) are embarrassing and insult the intellect of Montrealers.

    I hope that David Tyler will go forward and never have to look back on those bureaucratic asses.

    TJ

  4. Anna says:

    I can’t beleive you’re leaving you are my favourite radio personality…… Its crazy please don’t tell me its cos they brought back Terry D, thats terrible cos he ‘sucks’ gonna shut down and change my station for sure…
    Let us know where you will be k…
    Good luck

    Anna

  5. EC says:

    I was in shock when I heard that you were leaving Q92. You are truly the voice of the station and will be missed every day. The station just won’t be the same without you. I wish you the best of luck in all your new ventures. EC

  6. Micheline says:

    I agree with all the previous comments. I cannot believe I have lost you and your beautiful voice. Definitely will start surfing to find a new station. Between Maureen, Sonia, and now Terri, I think I will have no choice. I looked forward to listening to you every day, kind of a balm after having to endure Maureen for 3 hours, and the calm before the storm, also known as Sonia. I will be checking your blog regularly to see if I can find you somewhere else on the radio. Definitely Q92 is being run by …………
    Take care and keep us posted.

  7. Jeannette Piedade says:

    David

    Congrats on having the courage to follow your dreams and not sit by because it’s safe.
    I’m still waiting for the light to go off and let me know what I am supposed to be doing. As Oprah would say ” the AHA moment”.
    Keep in touch. Let us know what you are doing and hopefully the network of people that have come to know you will help you succeed in your new path.

    Jeannette

  8. Michel says:

    David,

    Wow…I heard before it was announced that you were leaving. It was a truly stupid move on Corus’ part. You’re such an important part of my day. And a beautiful voice too might I add!

    I hope that you keep doing some freelance work so we get a bit of you on the airwaves.

    All the best and god speed pal,
    Michel Boyer

  9. Bunny says:

    David,

    I still can’t believe it’s true…
    I looked forward to hearing your quirkiness on a daily basis. Your voice was intriguing and your laughter was not only contagious but it will always be remembered, along with your humorous take on life. The work day passed by quickly while listening to you. Hopefully we’ll hear you again on another radio station.
    I hope you keep up a blog somewhere…Loved reading them daily.
    You will be missed!
    All the best!

    Take care,
    ME

  10. striae says:

    Q-92 will surely miss you David.

  11. Heather says:

    Dear David,

    I can’t believe that Q92 would let you go for someone from CHOM (of all stations).
    I enjoyed my afternoons listening to you. I hope another radio station grabs you soon.
    Let us know where you go so that we can switch radio stations.

    You will be missed!

    Good luck!

  12. […] Blog. Well, this past July (sorry for the delay, August and September were pretty messed up for me in case you hadn’t heard) it was my distinct honour to interview her while she was here in Montreal for a conference and to […]

  13. Harry says:

    Hey David:

    Sorry to hear about your departure. I stopped listening to Q92 about the time they let you go and replaced you with inferior talent. The guy who “took a risk” and went to Calgary and is on at noon plays the same three tired songs as he did when he was at that other white trash station. There is only so many times a person can listen to that god awful song “Patio Lanterns” by what’s his face?

    I also stopped listening to their station in the morning when they thought it was funny to insult and degrade their listeners. Basically, him and his ex-partner are glorified sales people who have the wit of a wet towel. Good luck and I’ll start listening to Montreal Radio again when someone with some brains hires you and gets rid of those boring and phony baby boomers. Fat chace of that happening since Montreal Radio is obviously run bv the same type of idiots they employ. Cheers!

  14. […] Tyler talked about his departure from the station on his blog, and I linked to that post, both prompting a few comments, especially from his colleagues. But there wasn't anywhere near the outcry that came with DiMonte's departure from CHOM or various radio firings since. […]

Leave a Reply

